NEET to be conducted in 23 more cities

The number of examination centres for National Eligibility Cum Entrance Test (NEET) has now been increased to 23 more cities. With this, the number of examination centres will now be 103 from earlier 80.

“Looking into the record increase in number of registered candidates this year, the minister of human resources and development, desired to increase 23 more new examination cities in the list of 80 existing examination cities. Accordingly, 23 new cities have been added,” the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) said in a statement on Friday.

A record over 11 lakh students have registered this year for the admission to undergraduate medical course as against over 8.02 lakh candidates in 2016. the CBSE said.

The new list includes four cities each from Karnataka and Maharashtra, three from Gujarat and Tamil Nadu each, two each from Andhra Pradesh, West Bengal and Kerala and one city each from Punjab, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh.

The NEET exam is scheduled to be held on May 7.

Source: Media reports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *